Friday, August 11, 2017

Manga Review: orange: The Complete Collection Part 2 by Ichigo Takano

Rating (Out of 5): ~4-4.5
Publisher: Seven Seas
Release Date: May 2016
Volumes: 6.
Spoilers?: No.
Volume: 1.

Goodreads Synopsis:

An Epic Love Story Across Time

Naho immediately feels a connection to the new boy who has transferred to her class. Kakeru is calm, kind, and seems to like Naho as well. But their relationship gets thrown for a loop when Naho receives a letter from the future. The letter explains that Kakeru will die unless Naho does exactly as the letter says. But changing fate is no easy task. When the letter starts to get things wrong, Naho worries that she will still lose Kakeru forever. Luckily, Naho has her friends to back her up. Not only do they want to see Naho and Kakeru get together, they also have time-traveling letters of their own...

Orange: The Complete Collection 2 also includes a bonus story, Haruiro Astronaut. This five chapter story is about a pair of twins who discover that they can't share everything in life--or at least not an alien that suddenly becomes a part of it.


This series is both sweet and heartbreaking, at times. We know how this ends in one realm, in one possibility, and at times we see how it follows the same path. It's hard to see all of the missed opportunities, to know how it ends when you're too scared, and how it goes when, even knowing that, it's hard to do something different. I can understand the hesitation, and yet it's still hard to see her follow the past.
When things start going different, when the letters aren't following what's happening in real time, it's uplifting. It's nice to see when Naho and Kakeru are finally honest and open with each other, and it actually goes in a good direction. It's also nice to see their friends growing and supporting each other.
After the main story ends, there are a few extra short stories, featuring non-related characters, and they were cute and fun.
I really enjoyed this short series, and I'm looking forward to reading more by Takano.

No comments:

Post a Comment