Friday, May 5, 2017

Manga Review: Anonymous Noise, Volume 2, by Ryoko Fukuyama

Rating (Out of 5): ~3.5
Publisher: Shojo Beat (VIZ Media)
Release Date: May 2, 2017
Volumes: 12+
Spoilers?: No.
Volume: 1. 3.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Music and longing collide in this ballad of unrequited love!

Nino Arisugawa, a girl who loves to sing, experiences her first heart-wrenching goodbye when her beloved childhood friend, Momo, moves away. And after Nino befriends Yuzu, a music composer, she experiences another sad parting! With music as their common ground and only outlet, how will everyone's unrequited loves play out?

Yuzu struggles with his feelings for Nino even as his band tries to recruit her. Meanwhile, Nino strives to improve her singing skills in a bid to get Momo’s attention somehow… She soon lands an audition that’s being held by a “Momo Kiryu”—could he be her Momo?


We get some answers for why Momo is avoiding Nino, though honestly they're not very good. I still like Momo, though; his puns get me. Yuzu is kind of whiny, and we find out why he's avoiding telling Nino about his singing, though that gets mostly resolved.
I liked seeing how Nino decides to focus on her singing, and to finding out how to better her voice. She almost gets two major offers for bands, though I'm intrigued about the second one, and where Miou's plot line is going. They're splitting up, and I'm intrigued. It should be interesting to see how the band's first public appearance goes, as well.
This series still feels very early, like it's just starting and there's a bit more exploring to go before it settles. I'm enjoying it thus far, though.

A review copy was provided by the publisher, VIZ Media, for an honest review. Thank you so, so much!

No comments:

Post a Comment